A Guide to Buying the Best Toilet

This guide to help you find the best toilet for your needs is a work in progress. My goal is to provide a starting point for anyone looking to make this purchase. Hopefully, my knowledge can help others get a head start.

I recently purchased an old condo. It was an old office building from the 1950s that was converted into lofts about 25 years ago. I loved the location and saw that the place had a ton of potential. But like all places like that, it needed a bunch of work.

One of the things on my list to replace was the toilet. The one in the places was small, weak and inefficient. The first few times I had people to see the place multiple friends clogged the toilet—not a great impression.

Who is this guide for?

This is a guide for people that have just started their research on toilets. I am not a professional, but just some dude on the internet who has spent an unreasonable amount of time learning everything I can before making a purchase.

If you don’t know much more than that you need to replace your toilet, I’d encourage you to keep reading.

What’s important when buying a toilet?

Flushing power

Power, power power. When I started my search for a new toilet, flush power was the absolute top consideration. I wanted something that would be able to flush a bowling ball. Considering that a toilets primary job is to flush waste, I suggest this be your top consideration as well.

Before making any purchase, I’d recommend checking out the MaP Flush Score. You really don’t want to leave anything to chance here. Nothing with less than 600g of power should be considered.

Water-saving efficiency

Water-savings may be another important part of deciding what toilet to purchase. Today you’ll find 3 different flush volumes available 1.6 GPF (gallons per flush), 1.28 GPF and 1.0 GPF. For dual-flush toilets—which I’ll talk about later—you’ll find a 0.8 GPF as well.