What's a good camera for a beginner?

Hello everyone!

I have been taking more and more pictures with my phone. My iPhone X to be more specific. They were so good people wanted to know what lens I was using!

I have had a passion for Photography for a long time but I have never had the courage to take the plunge and buy a camera. I’ve decided it’s time to make the jump

I started to search for one but, I became quickly overwhelmed with the choices. I’m a beginner and don’t want to buy something super-expensive. I’m also certain I’ll want to upgrade once I get into the swing of things and I figure out what I want from my camera and what I need.

What’s better, canon vs nikon for a beginner? Something else? What should I look for in a camera for now? What to avoid?

Any help would be appreciated!

I would suggest Nikon or Canon, because if you want to try out portraits there is a ton of gear out there build on those to photo systems. No matter what direction you take, there will be options. I’m more of a Nikon fan, but either would work.

Specifically, I would look for a used D5600 or D5500. You can probably find one for $300 or $400. If you want to spend more the D7200 is a spectacular option. That may cost you $600 to $800 used.

With the D5x00 series, you will have some limitations. The flash cannot be operated in commander mode to control an off camera flash. However there are wireless flash triggers you could use.

The Nikon AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D lens costs about $100 and provides a ton of bang for it’s buck when it comes to portraits. The cool thing is if you wanted to go from APS-C to a full-frame camera like the Nikon D750 later on, that lens will still work.

I know someone is going to jump in here and start yelling about Sony’s mirrorless line, but there is just a plethora of options in the beginner Nikon or Canon camp.

2 Likes